Outdoor Movie Theaters in DC

By Peach in Whats hot in DC Nightlife
Tuesday, July 17, 2012, 6:04pm. (Updated: 10/24/13 at 6:00pm) Add comments

DC Area Outdoor Summer Films

In an ode to the retro drive in movie theaters of the days of yore where viewers could watch the latest movies from the privacy and comfort of their cars, outdoor movie theaters, minus the cars, have been cropping up all over the city, and most of them are free.

Here’s your guide to the metro areas best bets for outdoor big screen movies and schedules. From the massive Screen on the Green at the National Mall to your local neighborhood screens from Rosslyn to Rockville, switch in up and plop your ass on the grass for an eclectic movie experience under the stars.

Screen on the Green

Screen on the Green 2Where:  National Mall , Washington, DC

When:  Mondays, July 16 – August 6, 2012, at sunset

Monday, July 16: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Wednesday, July 25: It Happened One Night *Note weekday change*
Monday, July 30: From Here to Eternity
Monday, August 6: Psycho

 

NoMa Summer Screen

NoMa Outdoor MovieWhere:  L Street between 2nd and 3rd Streets, NE, Washington, DC

When:  Wednesdays, May 23 through August 8, 2012, at sunset

July 11: Red Dawn
July 18: War Game
July 25: The Incredibles
August 1: Jurassic Park
August 8: Deep Impact

U Street Outdoor Movies – Harrison Field Under the Stars

U St Outdoor MovieWhere: V St. between 13th and 14th St., Washington DC

When:  Wednesdays, June 27 – September 26, 2012, gates at 7PM, movie at dark

July 25: Protocol
August 22: The American President
September 26: The Pelican Brief

 

Capitol Riverfront Movies

Capitol Riverfront Outdoor MovieWhere:  New Jersey Ave SE and Tingey Street SE, Washington DC

When:  Thursdays, May 24 through July 26, 2012, 8:45PM

July 12: O Brother, Where Art Thou?
July 19: The DaVinci Code
July 26: Muppet Treasure Island

Rosslyn Outdoor Film Festival

Rosslyn Outdoor MovieWhere:  Rosslyn, Virginia- Gateway Park

When:  Fridays, June 1 – August 24, 2012, at sunset (Show up early for the pre-show games and prizes.)
Gateway Park

Friday, July 13: All the President’s Men
Friday, July 20: Dave
Friday, July 27: Swing Vote
Friday, August 3: Head of State
Friday, August 10: Man of the Year
Friday, August 17: Wag the Dog
Friday, August 24: Canadian Bacon

Comcast Alexandria Filmfest

Comcast Alexandira FilmfestWhere:  Waterfront Park, King Street, Alexandria, Virginia

When: Weekend long event

Friday, July 13: Mission Impossible
Saturday, July 14: We Bought a Zoo

 

Cinema Del Ray

Where:  Mount Vernon Recreation Center, 2701 Commonwealth Avenue, Alexandria, VA

When:  7 PM, movies start at dusk

July 21: Cars
August 18: Dolphin Tale

 

 

Crystal City Screen

Crystal City outdoor MovieWhere:  18th and South Bell Streets, Crystal City, Virginia

When:  Mondays, June 4 – August 27, 2012, after sunset

Monday, July 16: Bridget Jones Diary
Monday, July 23: The Proposal
Monday, July 30: You’ve Got Mail
Monday, August 6: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
Monday, August 13: Pretty Woman
Monday, August 20: Love Actually
Monday, August 27: When Harry Met Sally

National Harbor Movies on the Potomac

National Harbour Outdoor MovieWhere:  Waterfront Street, National Harbor, Prince George’s County, Maryland

When:  Fridays and Sundays, May 25-September 28, 2012

Friday, July 13: Dirty Dancing
Sunday, July 15: Flipper
Friday, July 20: The Bucket List
Sunday, July 22: Miracle
Friday, July 27: RV
Sunday, July 29: Happy Feet 2
Friday, August 3: The American President
Sunday, August 5: All Dogs go to Heaven
Friday, August 10: Air Force One
Sunday, August 12: Hotel for Dogs
Friday, August 17: Chasing Liberty
Sunday, August 19: Beethoven
Friday, August 24: Dave
Sunday, August, 26: My Dog Skip
Friday, August 31: Man of the Year
Sunday, September 2: Homeward Bound
Friday, September 7: Space Balls
Friday, September 14: Space Cowboys
Friday, September 21: Apollo 13
Friday, September 28: Star Trek

Bethesda Outdoor Movies

Bethesda Outdoor MovieWhere:  Woodmont Triangle, Bethesda, Maryland

When:  July 24 – 28, 2012

Tuesday, July 24: Stand By Me
Wednesday, July 25: Vertigo
Thursday, July 26: The Muppets
Friday, July 27: Crazy Stupid Love
Saturday, July 28: Hugo

Comcast Outdoor Film Festival – Rockville

Comcast Rockville FilmfestWhere:  Mid-Pike Plaza, Rockville, Maryland

When: August 23-25, 2012 8:30PM

August 23: All The President’s Men
August 24: Midnight in Paris
August 25: Cars

 

Rockville Movies on the Square

Rockville Outdoor MovieWhere:  Rockville Town Square, Rockville, Maryland

Where:  Wednesdays, June 13 – August 22, 2012

July 11: Soul Surfer
July 18: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol
July 25: Miracle
August 1: Transformers: Dark of the Moon
August 8: Cars 2
August 15: The Last Lions
August 22: Moneyball

Columbia’s Lakefront Summer Festival Movies

Columbia Lakefront MovieWhere:  Columbia Town Center, 10320 Little Patuxent Pkwy., Columbia, Maryland

When:  Mondays and Fridays Summer 2012

July 13: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol
July 16: National Velvet
July 20: War Horse
July 23: The Muppets
July 27: The Help
July 30: The Adventures of Tintin
August 3: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
August 6: Cars 2
August 10: John Carter
August 13: Puss in Boots
August 17: The Artist
August 20: Journey 2: The Mysterious Island
August 24: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows
August 25: True Grit
August 31: The Lorax
Sept 1: The Hunger Games
Sept 2: Hugo
Sept 7: Iron Man 2
Sept 8: Captain America: The First Avenger
Sept 14: Hairspray: The Musical
Sept 15: Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore

Don’t like grass stains? Hit DC Best Nightclubs and parties with this guide!

Leave a Reply

(required)

(required)

Designed by DC Nightlife, DC Nightclubs, and DC Clubs.  ©2015 DC Clubbing 1424 K Street NW, Suite 102, Washington, DC 20005. | Privacy Policy